Is peer pressure a form of bullying?

Hi guys,

To answer the question in the title of this post, yes, peer pressure is a form of bullying. Peer pressure can make you think, look and act in a certain way. Teens are pressured to fit in with their peers. No matter how much a person might not want to do something, they sometimes feel like they have to give into peer pressure to ‘fit in’. Peer pressure can lead to someone picking up awful habits like smoking, drinking and taking drugs. It is fact that half of young people smoke and drink because it is ‘cool’ among their friends. Peer pressure is in fact bullying a person into doing something they don’t want to do. A helpful site to look at is http://www.likeitis.org . It is a site where you can look at different aspects of life e.g. peer pressure, sexuality, teenage pregnancy and so many others. Take a look, it’ll be worth your while!

A story I have that I would like to share with you all is one that I find a bit upsetting. I was babysitting for my aunt not so long ago and I was out the front watching the kids playing. I looked to my right and in that split second I saw a young boy, no older than the age of seven or eight smoking a cigarette. I didn’t know what to do. The boy’s older brother was sitting next to him on the grass telling him that he’d better smoke the whole cigarette or he would tell everyone something embarrassing about him. I was horrified. That just goes to show how peer pressure is all around us, and how dangerous it is. Just imagine, that could be your seven or eight year old child being bullied into doing something as dangerous as smoking a cigarette.

I would love to hear if any of you have any stories related to this topic as I find it particularly interesting. Thanks for taking the time out to read this post!

Yours,

Aoife.

November 2, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

